Being There - Box Set
Being There - Box Set
Being There - Box Set
Being There - Box Set

Being There - Box Set

Regular price
Sale price

  • Vinyl
  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Format: Box Set
  • Label: Rhino

After his former band Uncle Tupelo broke up, singer/songwriter Jeff Tweedy took the bulk of the band-most notably bassist John Stirratt and drummer Ken Coomer-and quickly recorded Wilco's 1995 debut, A.M. The album includes several fan favorites like "Casino Queen" and the funny-sad ode to drunk driving and unrequited love, "Passenger Side."

The new DELUXE EDITION offers up eight unreleased bonus tracks that feature an early version of "Outtasite (Outta Mind)" and "When You Find Trouble," which is the last studio recording made by Uncle Tupelo. In the album's liner note, Stirratt writes "Listening back to records 15 to 20 years later, I'm always taken with the confident but guileless quality of bands in their 20s, that strange mixture of innocence and conviction, and this is one of those records...we were barely a band at that point, just trying to make some noise."

With its sophomore effort, the double album Being There, Wilco maintained the gravitas of roots music it established on A.M. without being hemmed in by it, creating the 21st-century version of folk music it later perfected on records like Yankee Hotel Foxtrot and The Whole Love. Being There mixes happy-go-lucky rockers ("Monday") and ballads ("Red-Eyed And Blue"), with two signature songs from the Wilco canon - "Misunderstood" and "Sunken Treasure."

The DELUXE EDITION builds on the original with 15 bonus tracks released for the first time, including alternate versions of tracks "I Got You" and "Say You Miss Me." The CD and digital version also features Wilco's 20-song performance at the Troubadour from November 12, 1996, combining songs from A.M. ("I Must Be High" and a full-throttle punk version of "Passenger Side,") Being There ("Kingpin" and "Forget The Flowers") and a few Uncle Tupelo tracks ("The Long Cut" and "Gun.") Also included on all formats are four songs the band played on radio station KCRW on November 13, 1996. As a touring band, many of these songs can be found on Wilco's current set-list as notable fan favourites that have evolved over the years.


Side One
1. "Misunderstood"
2. "Far, Far Away"
3. "Monday"
4. "Outtasite (Outta Mind)"
5. "Forget The Flowers"

Side Two
1. "Red-Eyed And Blue"
2. "I Got You (At The End Of The Century)"
3. "What's The World Got In Store"
4. "Hotel Arizona"
5. "Say You Miss Me"

Side Three 
1. "Sunken Treasure"
2. "Someday Soon" 
3. "Outta Mind (Outta Sight)"
4. "Someone Else's Song"
5. "Kingpin"

Side Four
1. "(Was I) In Your Dreams"
2. "Why Would You Wanna Live"
3. "The Lonely 1"
4. "Dreamer In My Dreams"

Side Five
1. "Late Blooming Son"
2. "I Got You" - Dobro Mix Warzone
3. "Out Of Sight, Out Of Mind" - Alternate
4. "Far Far Away (Dark Side Of The Room)"
5. "Dynamite My Soul"
6. "Losing Interest"

Side Six 
1. "Why Would You Wanna Live" - Alternate
2. "Sun's A Star"
3. "Capitol City"
4. "Better When I'm Gone"
5. "Dreamer In My Dreams" - Alternate Rough Take

Side Seven
1. "Say You Miss Me" - Alternate
2. "I Got You" - Alternate
3. "Monday" - Party Horn Version
4. "I Can't Keep From Talking"

Side Eight
1. "Sunken Treasure"
2. "Red-Eyed And Blue"
3. "Far, Far Away"
4. "Will You Love Me Tomorrow"