Creedence Clearwater Revival: Willy And The Poor Boys - Vinyl (Half Speed Master)
Creedence Clearwater Revival: Willy And The Poor Boys - Vinyl (Half Speed Master)
Creedence Clearwater Revival: Willy And The Poor Boys - Vinyl (Half Speed Master)

Willy And The Poor Boys - LP (Half Speed Master)

Creedence Clearwater Revival
Regular price
Sale price

  • Pre-Order Now:  Release Date 15th November 2019
  • Vinyl: 1 x Black Vinyl 180 Gram (Half-Speed Master)
  • Label: Craft

Craft Recordings is excited to announce the half-speed master editions of two classic titles from Creedence Clearwater Revival, in the continued celebration of their 50th anniversaries; Willy and the Poor Boys and Green River. Pressed on 180-gram vinyl, and set for a November 15th release date, the albums were mastered at half-speed by award-winning engineer Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios. Both LPs—which were previously available only as part of the seven-LP Studio Albums Collection box set—come housed in handsome tip-on jackets, replicating the packaging of the original pressings.

1969 was a prolific year for Creedence Clearwater Revival, who released three Billboard Top Ten albums in 12 months—two of which were Green River and Willy and the Poor Boys

Willy and the Poor Boys, was released in November of 1969 to wide critical acclaim and commercial success. The LP includes one of the most enduring Vietnam protest songs, “Fortunate Son,” as well as quintessential CCR tracks like “Down on the Corner,” “It Came Out of the Sky” and “Midnight Special.” The record peaked at No. 3 on the Billboard 200, and has been called the band’s “best record” by The Village Voice, while it was also included in Rolling Stone’s “500 Greatest Albums of All Time.”

Though Creedence were only active for a brief period (1968 to 1972), they found creative achievement and global success matched by few others in such a short span of time. Formed in 1968, the group tapped into a rich, traditional seam of American music that incorporated elements of swampy blues, country, rockabilly, gospel, and folk. Over the course of their time together, the band released seven studio albums on Fantasy Records (two of which would peak at Number One, and three of which would be in the Billboard Top Ten). They scored nine Top Ten singles and played over 150 shows around the world.

Both these reissues were mastered at half-speed, an exacting process which brings titles like Willy and the Poor Boys and Green River a new vibrancy, half a century after they were recorded. Using high-res transfers from the original analog tapes, the mastering process involves playing back the audio at half its recorded speed, while the cutting lathe is turned at half the desired playback speed. The technique allows more time to cut a micro-precise groove, resulting in more accuracy with frequency extremes and dynamic contrasts. The result on the turntables is an exceptional level of sonic clarity and punch.


Side A:

1. Down on the Corner
2. It Came Out of the Sky
3. Cotton Fields
4. Poorboy Shuffle
5. Feelin’ Blue

Side B:

1. Fortunate Son
2. Don’t Look Now (It Ain’t You or Me)
3. The Midnight Special
4. Side O’ the Road
5. Effigy